top of page

Feliz/Triste 16 de Septiembre... Mexico, Te Extrano MUCHO


I'm here in Denver, scouring Walmarts and King Soopers for ONE single, solitary Mexican flag so that I can feel the pride well up in my heart for my loving home country. "Are you Mexican?" you ask... I guess it depends on your perspective.

For me, the globe is a borderless orb of life-giving water and treadable land with resources rich and scarce, people good and evil (and plenty of them neutral), and a universal context of integrated and interdependent life-forces that each and every one of us share; a world-wide web, if you will, of very real energetic and kinetic connections that allows us to feel and affect one another in both positive and negative ways. For those of you already shaking your head in disbelief, this is actually science, not some "new age mumbo jumbo" or whatever your grandad would label it out of his own ignorance and confusion.

The basic scientific concept in a nutshell is this: we are all made of the same shit. That shit never disappears; it just turns into different shit. We are all simply combinations of previous shit that makes up the same bigger, overall shit that everything is a part of. Got that?

It's pretty obvious to anyone paying attention that "Mother Earth" - or, this little round organism we named "Earth" - takes care of itself. Just like our bodies figure out different ways to compensate for imbalances in its biology, so does the earth. All of our bodies are part of earth, and both our bodies and planet earth are all part of a bigger thing called the Universe. Just like our heart and our brains are parts of our bodies and tissues are smaller parts of those organs. Are you with me? If not, just nod and pretend you are - or just reread this blog and I'm sure you'll get it. After all, if you follow me, you're a pretty smart cookie ;)

My point is this:

AM I MEXICAN?

Nope, not in the sense that I am discriminated against as such or in the sense that I possess DNA directly from specific descendants with particular skin, hair and features that typically identify a person as visually distinguishable.... but in the sense that I love my Mexican community and swell with pride for that amazing, kind, dynamic, colorful and strong culture in which I have immersed myself... YES, yes I am.

If you really want to go the route of DNA, we are all "African" - and these monikers of orientation ONLY mean something because we have labelled the citizens of certain plots of land and short-sighted genetic makeup as certain "types" of human beings - but when it comes down to it, we are all quite literally from Adam and Eve, black-skinned ancestors to each and every one of us who created the human race.

So if you're on the fence about white supremacy, or DACA, or immigration, or any such nonsense issue that we decide is worth complaining about whenever we see faces that are visually unlike our own, think about that. That's not my opinion, folks; that's just science.

bottom of page