top of page

Is That a New Leaf?


Lately I've been hitting up Funkyton with a whole lot of jazzy town tunes, slimy fish, creepy bugs and elusive underwater sea creatures. If you've never been, you gotta check out... Animal Crossing: New Leaf - Welcome Amiibos!! Welcome to your very own town with your very own cafe, nightclub, "Dream Suite" (more on that another time) and even a sphinx near the beach. Yes, all this and more can be yours! Invite your friends (me) to your town for a visit, long-distance or right next to you!!

Still not convinced? Feeling like the cutesy-wootsy-ness of this "animals-are-your-neighbors" game is too lame for a hardcore gamer like you? First of all... get over yourself and fuck you. Second of all... don't be so sure that these cute little animals can't suck you into an endless, life-changing, heart-softening experience to last you at least... two years? No, no, a lifetime!

Well, if you're not reading anymore, double fuck you. Moving on, the reasons why I love this game are simple:

1. It takes the daily routine of maintaining a "life" from the Sims and makes it simultaneously simpler and much more interactive.

2. It encompasses several aspects of Fantasy Life, including fishing and making your own clothing, with enhancements. First off, the fish are all real fish, (and so are the bugs!) and you will, by accident, come to learn what these real fish (and bugs) look like. In real life. Educational bonus! *NERRRRD* Second, the fashion design aspect is no joke - you can draw, save and share TONS of designs, to your heart's desire!! They give cheaters and untalented hacks like me a chance to pixelate to the best of our ability by providing us with graph paper. (Pro Tip: Fill in the same number of squares on each side of the Y axis for any A-symmetrical design.You can even use those designs on things like your wallpaper, flooring, and fabrics for your furniture!!

3. The multiplayer dynamic. I LOVE going to other towns and visiting my friends, smacking them with my bug catching nets, dancing and - yes, CHATTING - the night away in Club LOL or a quaint cafe (yknow, depending on whether or not they're old enough to drink, of course). You can even visit the tropical island with friends and SHARK HUNT to your heart's content!

4. Ok, you got me. I like the pretty colors and, yes, cute characters. I can't help myself, ok? I LOVE eye-catching graphics and cute, fuzzy little friends when I'm playing a game. Can't help it, and you know you love it too. It's built into all of us. Unless you're a cold-hearted killing machine, in which case GET YOUR PSYCHO EYEBALLS OFF MY WEBSITE.

So there you have it.

If you want my friend code for the 3DS - you guessed it! - you're going to have to do a little work... like send me a tribute or... be under 23. Both!

Until next time, my little nummy-nals... Check out my Dream Address: 5D00-0091-11F7

XOXO Disco Moon

bottom of page